Buzz Lightyear to spend a possible 2nd night on the fridge…


Having had a completely angelic and reasonable 1st son (bar the first 12 weeks of non-stop crying that is) our second, Henry has come as some sort of a shock. He is loud, brash, throws and mean punch and doesn’t need anger management so much as rage control skills. His favourite phrase is ‘You’re not my best friend…!!’ and this shows how utterly cross he is with you. Well, that and the highly comical frown that he does. So. Buzz Lightyear is the only thing he responds to, reverse psychology doesn’t work, threats don’t work and if you get cross you can see a smaller, pinker version of the incredible hulk metamorphosizes in front of you. Buzz was part of my new ‘I-will-not-give-into-pressure-to-buy-the-latest-toy-that-will-cost-a-fortune-and-only-be-played-with-once’ (I have to say I don’t know which of the 2 is the most annoying). I found Buzz lying in a wicker basket in a charity shop in Hungerford. He was £2.50. -£2.50!!! As opposed to the exorbitant price of the Buzz from the Disney Store. He fulfilled 2 criterion; 1. Make my little boy happy. 2. Don’t spend too much on tat. I have to say neither Henry nor I have been happier with a purchase. He ADORES Buzz and I have finally found something he responds too. He throws a punch at his brother; Buzz is threatened to a day by himself (all lonely and sad… ) on the fridge. Henry doesn’t want to loose Buzz so he calms down. Things are looking up…

About littlewhitecottage

Tales from a contemporay cottage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buzz Lightyear to spend a possible 2nd night on the fridge…

  1. Sarah says:

    Ahhhh I used to do that with Jess and her Lamby although she was never badly behaved. Leo on the otherhand goes to the beat of his own drum and woe betide anyone who interferes. I have not yet found anything that floats his boat enough so have to use exclusion tactics, which I suspect is harder on me than it is on him! oh to understand the mind of a five year old who still has fits of the terrible twos!

    • I feel your pain. I love their differences but they can be hard! I can honestly say that although they are brothers because the 3 of them have such different personalities we’ve had to handle in sometimes totally different ways it seems they are all having slightly different upbringings. Certainly an interesting idea with reference to the nature/nurture debate. 3 brothers, same parents but personality, and our reactions to their personalities, is the strongest element that is effecting outcomes at the moment!

Leave a Reply

