The last ‘day’ with him…


There is an age gap between my first 2 sons of 3 1/2 years so I had time with Oliver before Henry came along. When Henry started nursery this meant we had days in the holiday where Oliver and I were on our own so we started to do days out. I’ve taken him to the Natural History and Science Museums many times (always starting with the dinosaurs in the NHM!) He loved the train journeys, meeting new people and would chat away happily to any person who would chat back. We’ve had lunch on the steps of St. Pauls with his dad watching the pigeons flutter around us as they did the bird lady in Mary Poppins. Inside St. Pauls he said an amazed ‘W-O-W’ at the vastness of the dome and we had great fun in the whispering gallery trying to send silly messages to each other like the choirboys used to. He looked forward to our days out asking when the next holiday was. We didn’t do the playing with play dough, arts and craft round the oil clothed kitchen table like other mums could. He always hated that much to my great disappointment (I am an ex primary school teacher and had lots of ideas!!!) but we did, and still do, have our days out.

Until now that is.

Yesterday it dawned on me that it was the last day of nursery for Henry and he would be at school from this January. This would mean that he wouldn’t be at nursery in the holidays and would be with Oliver and I. Whilst I love this ‘moving on’ I think Oliver is going to miss our days out where he had me to himself. We’ll still do them but it will be with Henry also. Oliver was subdued yesterday so we went out for lunch and had a chat. I had an idea and put it to him –would he like to come out on a run with me and ride his bike? He loved the idea so we came home, got changed and went out. We had an hour just him and me out in the drizzle but I think he realised this day needn’t be the end of something more the beginning of something different. He made me laugh when he said ‘Henry can’t ride his bike, so he can’t come out with us can he Mummy!’

So, having gone to the British Museum on Monday with all 3 of them (exhausting but great fun) I am now thinking –where shall we start with our newly expanded merry band for our first day out? I think I hear the dinosaurs calling…

About littlewhitecottage

Tales from a contemporay cottage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

