3 boys! Wow! Are you going to try for a girl…?


My stock answer to this often asked question is ‘Erm, no we’d be trying for a baby!’ It is often commented on the fact that I have 3 boys and then followed by the comentee then looking at me in awe and wonder at the idea that anyone could survive let alone be happy with 3 boys. This is not a recent phenomena Plato said, ‘Of all the animals, the boy is the most unmanageable’ which proves that having boys has always been thought of as a bit of a bind. Yes, they are loud, energetic and forceful. They love to wrestle, talk about willys, bums and poo. In fact I am often referred to in our house not as ‘Mummy’ but ‘Mrs Poohead!’ My husband was telling me of a chat he had with a colleague who was telling him that having girls was great as he walks through the door to be greeted by sweet smelling daughters’ who’ve just baked him cookies. My husband walks through the door to be shot with a nerf gun with cries of ‘I GOT YOU DADDY!!!’ and he has been found collapsed in a heap on the floor with 3 boys clambering all over him.

Someone once said (and how right they were) that you need to treat boys like puppies; plenty of exercise, lots of food, firm boundaries, and plenty of fuss. In my experience I absolutely agree with all of these statements. If mine don’t get out in the fresh air, I know about it when I walk into the playroom and find the room trashed with the boys jumping off the windowsill. If they don’t have firm boundaries they get cheeky, test me more to see where my boiling point is. If my middle son doesn’t eat his behaviour deteriorates rapidly until the tanks are full again. And as for fuss, my boys are the cuddliest, snuggliest lot you’d ever want near you when you’ve had a crap day. All at different times though, try to cuddle Tobias any other time than just after he’s got up and you’d get a distinct shove away and a ‘NO!’ but miss out his morning snuffle and you’ll know about it! I also think I could charge for ‘Henry hugs’ as we call them, those amazing arms-wrapped-so-tightly-around-you-you-think-you’re-going-to-breath-him-in type of hugs that I know I’ll desperately miss when he’s flown the nest.

Do I wish for a girl? Of course I would have loved a daughter but as the sonographer said to me when she told me last son was a boy during a scan, ‘With boys, you only have to worry about 1 willy whereas with girls you have to worry about hundreds…’ I think I’ve escaped a whole different multitude of problems. So my pink and fluffiness will just have to be confined to the downstairs loo or a cushion on the sofa. And I grew up with 2 brothers so I know all about playing army soldiers, how to fake being shot and understanding that mouldy sports towels are all perfectly normal. I would have loved to have met Plato though, to have chatted with him about the world and his ideas but I would have given him one piece of advice should he have had to deal with boys. Get a dog…

About littlewhitecottage

Tales from a contemporay cottage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 3 boys! Wow! Are you going to try for a girl…?

  1. Dominique says:

    I only have the one boy and soon to meet my new girl so I’m happy with the balance. Dylan is everything you have described of your three boys and I too am Mrs poohead or Mrs stinky!!!! To be honest it just makes me laugh and wouldn’t change for the world.

  2. Hi Dominique – I think we need a ‘Mrs Poohead’ badge to wear with pride!
    Good luck for your new arrival :o)

  3. mrs nutt says:

    i have been blessed with 6 beautiful daughters & i always get where u trying for a boy?? what??!! i didn’t find out what i was having because as long as ur baby is happy & healthy, it really doesn’t matter what flavour u get. my husband always gets awww, what a shame u haven’t got a son. he is absolutely not bothered. he secretly likes living in a house full of girls 🙂 another comment we get is do u not have a tv?? or do u now know where babies come from now?? i would never be so rude to comment on the size of someone’s family. ur family how ever big or small is ur family & every member makes ur life complete. i wouldn’t change my family for the world no matter what people say or think. xx

    • I know what you mean about inapproriate comments. I always think they are really commenting on how they would feel and that’s obviously a negative for them. I think people forget that you don’t just wake up with 3/4/5/6 children, you add to what you have making room and coping along the way.

      Enjoy! I love a busy home 😮

  4. Jo Jones says:

    I loved reading this blog, I have 2 boys and 2 girls and obviously I love them all to bits but they are very different…..the boys are very cuddly (but only with me) and my 6 year old daughter is a mother hen, like it was born into her to be tidy and helpful….the boys were never like that!! I’ve yet to discover what my youngest daughter will be like as she is only 10 weeks old but I’m looking forward to her character developing…..I’m very proud of them all……..they are always polite and well-mannered and I believe that is important! I look forward to reading more of your blogs x

    • Thanks Jo x
      I’m only into my first week but I do aim to try to post every weekday. It’s been something I’ve been thinking about doing for a while so I’m really pleased people are enjoying it. I was worried I might not be interesting enough!

      10 week old daughter…..oh for a snuffly newborn!
      x

  5. Clara-Louise says:

    Have been enjoying your blogs for the last few weeks now, and having been up to date thought id read back on what you’ve already blogged…the first paragraph of this made me laugh out loud as they way you’ve described your boys is EXACTLY like my two and half year old GIRL!!she too is loud, energetic, forceful, loves to wrestle and talk about willies, minnies and boobs, as well as bums and poo!not gracefully, girlie cuddly one at all…funnily enough…everyone tells me that girls are harder than boys so maybe the balance is shifting…?or maybe they just mean my girl!?lol looking forward to future blogs xx

  6. Sandra says:

    Just started reading these oh how it brings back lovely times when my 3 girls were young, and yes all you got was are you going to try for a boy, and no like you a baby, my home was filled with fun, tears arguments fighting never a dull moment but most of all love, they all had different personality’s thank god could you imagine a house full cloned girls. They are all grown women now with good strong minds and determination and my god how I LOVE these three babies which I helped make into the women they are today and I have been rewarded every single day with love from these special women,I breath in every ounce of there love I still look at them and see the little girls that were ducklings and think OMG your swans, and everyone of them have told me you mum have made me the person I am today.so whether you have boys, girls or both they are all made from love, the day I became a Nana was to my beautiful boy and yes I feel in love with him my heart had that same feeling when my girls were born and I started all over again with protection and it has happened again my beautiful Grandaughter was born but just maybe I’ve just fallen deeply in love again xxxx

Leave a Reply

