If she’d just married him then I’m sure all would have been happy…


This week I’m going to do something I’ve never done before; Read a book again. Those who know me well know I am quite anal about my books, if I read one book of an author; I then have to all that author’s books. Once I’ve bought a bought in a certain edition, all that author’s books have to be bought in the same edition –they have to match on the shelf you see this is important. Anyway (more about the shelves later) I’ve searched charity shops to make sure I got all the Roald Dahl books in their previous editions pastel colours, and it annoys me when people buy me ‘3 books in 1!’ I try to look grateful but it’s hard when you know you’ll sigh every time you see it on the shelf sticking its metaphorical tongue out at you, winking an eye only I can see and sneering ‘I don’t match, and there’s nothing you can do about it!’

The book I’m going to read again is Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. I first read this by the light of the orchestra pit whilst playing the ‘cello in West Side Story. A complicated bit of music to play but was made more fun by the ‘cellist I shared a stand with constantly getting up with his mike still attached to his bridge, it pinging off making a horrendous noise and the conductor looking wearily at him saying –’Erm please be careful with the mike, we have to pay for any damage’ I giggled, we all giggled and then I went back to my book. I found the descriptions of the moors beautiful, I was whisked away to a bygone age, a harsher but maybe freer age and I could identify with Cathy being a free spirit. I’d always fancied myself as a free spirit but didn’t really know where to start.

Oh gone then, the shelves thing? I have to line them up in height order left to right ascending. This really is perfectly normal I feel –who’d want a messy bookcase??? My husband has said this is getting a little out of hand when it extends to the children’s bookcases though…

I was a bit frustrated with the book the first time round, I felt some of the angst was purely for effect and would someone really make those sorts of decisions to marry someone they didn’t love instead of the one they did? I felt if she’d just married him (Heathcliff) instead of the other one (Edgar Linton) then all would have been happy. But then, that doesn’t make for a good story or TV drama does it?

I read it as a teenager, headstrong, wanting to change the world and now I’ll read it as a 35 year old mum to 3, wife to 1. I wonder if I’ll find something new inside the pages. Maybe this why you should read books again as we’re different people throughout different parts of our lives. So I’ll find my old copy of Wuthering Heights, dust if off and when I open the pages maybe I’ll hear a little echo of times gone past and ‘I like to be in America….’ with its complicated rhythms coming through the pages fleetingly to then be replaced by the wailing of ‘MUM!!!!!! Can I have my pocket money!!!!!!!’

For now though, I’m off to tidy the bookcases….

About littlewhitecottage

Emma is a qualified teacher with 14 years of teaching in many different settings. From teaching adults and children at a music school to choosing to work in a demanding primary school that was failing (which meant moving from an outstanding school – her colleagues were aghast!) to running her own sewing business for the last 5 ½ years teaching all ages how to sew: Emma loves to teach.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If she’d just married him then I’m sure all would have been happy…

  1. madmothers says:

    Oooh I love books, all shapes and sizes and at various states of ‘dogearedness’. I get quite emotional when I get to the point when I have to have a clearout! A friend suggested that I should get a Kindle, but that idea doesnt appeal at all. I love the yellow pages of old books, the slighty funny smell of charity books and the nice white pages and unbent spine when I get I new one. A Kindle just wouldn’t deliver that expereince! I love Wuthering Heights, my copy is a bit tear spattered! 🙂

Leave a Reply

