Either that wallpaper goes or I do…


I love a good random read and this blog is going to be just that. Random facts fascinate me and I have the type of brain that seems to remember them. I can bore people for hours it seems with the useless junk I know, shame my brain doesn’t seem to remember the useful stuff that would get me through exams. (Actually maybe it would if the nerves would just take a break) I know the there is a vegetarian meat –human placenta. I know who wrote black beauty –Anna Sewell, that’s a great pub question often asked. The composer JS Bach had 21 children, and the lovely man who invented the conductors baton -Jean-Baptiste Lully, was using a pole to beat time, stabbed himself in the toe which then became infected and he died. I know ‘stuff’ and lots of it!! But goodness I even bore myself sometimes….

I was looking into famous last words and I found Oscar Wilde’s, ‘Either that wallpaper goes or I do’. He was witty and dry to the end even right at the end. It led me to do a little research to see what others have said as their final utterances on this earth before departing to who knows where. You have the funny ones such as Dylan Thomas (poet, d.1953) ‘I’ve had eighteen straight whiskies, I think that’s the record . . .’ and Richard Feynman, (physicist, d. 1988) said, ‘I’d hate to die twice. It’s so boring’. You have the poignant with Napolean Boneparte (French Emperor, d.1821) as he simply said ‘…Josephine’. King Charles II (d. 1685) expressed concern for his mistress Nell Gwynne as said on his deathbed, ‘Don’t let poor Nelly starve…’

There’s the downright angry last words uttered by John Crawford (Actress d.1977) to her housekeeper who had begun to pray aloud, ‘Damn it . . . Don’t you dare ask God to help me!’ But the one that made me think the most and probably the one I shall remember is Elizabeth I who died in 1603 and said, ‘All my possessions for a moment of time.’

I agree with Elizabeth, I can’t imagine I will come out with some remarkable statement still talked about in years to come. I can’t imagine I’ll be witty and dry like Oscar Wilde. Should death creep up on me and I have time to think about it I think I would be like Elizabeth and would gladly swap all my possession for more time with my family (though Elizabeth had no husband and children I’m sure she still left loved ones). I would also like to take the time to tell each one how I felt about them as we never really do that as often as we should in the busy ‘ordinariness’ of everyday life. Though, let’s face it if I’m really honest, I might just ask them if they knew that the music to Inspector Morse spells out the name ‘Morse’ in Morse code and that Barrington Pheloung writes the killer’s name in Morse code inside the incidental music of every episode. Maybe I need to get out more…


About littlewhitecottage

Tales from a contemporay cottage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

