So. Does your odd sock pile reflect the inner workings of your mind…?


In my house we have 3 boys, a man and me. There are all different colours and sizes of socks in our house we have baby socks, school socks, daddy’s work socks weekend socks, copious amounts of sports socks and everything in between. Try as I might I can’t seem to keep the mess of socks under control.

Much has been written of odd socks. Ann Enright in her novel, Making Babies: Stumbling into Motherhood, wrote hilariously about the perils of odd socks and I laughed at her recount in my ‘before children’ naivety. But I have turned into Ann Enright and my life, at times, does centre around the ‘where the heck did all these come from!!!!’ sort of helpless mania.

I’ve tried various things such as washing them in a net, pairing them in the washing basket, only buying my hubbie black socks but nothing works. I still end up trying to manage (I mean hide) the pile of lonely socks in the utility room. They’ve been sorted in a zipped canvas box (so I can’t see) but they outgrew that straining the zip and then finally sprouting out as if multiplying like rabbits. They’re now in a red wooden box in the hope that as the box gets full I’ll magically sort them all back into pairs to be filed in the correct drawers. Pigs will be flying and hell will have frozen over if that ever happens.

Why can’t I control the socks of the house? Is this some sort of overlooked secret Freudian task that I am failing? Should Freud have skipped the dream analysis and really concentrated his concerns to odd sock management? I think so. That would really have shown the inner workings of your mind. Is my inability to control them a reflection on how I organise my home and children? Is my confusion on how to store them revealing my confusion over how my life has turned out? One thing is for sure it has nothing to do with sex or my jealousy of men for not having a penis which the lovely Freud would have put it down to.

So I give in. I can’t control the socks and won’t even attempt to as after 7 years of marriage and 6 years of having children if I haven’t figured out a way yet it really isn’t going to happen. Let the socks run wild or maybe I should take a new direction and just pair any old socks together, it would certainly be a talking point.

I am no Stepford wife but I am going to relax about the socks situation and not get so upset by it all. They will not beat me. I will stand firm. But if I start to dream about the odd socks coming to get me maybe Freud could have been right..?

                                

 

                                Tobias ‘helping Mummy’ pair the odd socks.

                                (He put the sock on his head and said ‘hat!’)

About littlewhitecottage

Emma is a qualified teacher with 14 years of teaching in many different settings. From teaching adults and children at a music school to choosing to work in a demanding primary school that was failing (which meant moving from an outstanding school – her colleagues were aghast!) to running her own sewing business for the last 5 ½ years teaching all ages how to sew: Emma loves to teach.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So. Does your odd sock pile reflect the inner workings of your mind…?

  1. Terri says:

    We have the same thing at our house! Hubby blames me and says its because I always put loads in with only one of each sock (you can imagine what my not so polite retort to that little gem was!). I have just resorted to wearing odd socks as long as they are similar and I’m not going anywhere. Life is too short to worry too much about them matching and it never fails to make my 2 year old laugh at silly mummy in her different socks! x

  2. phrogmom says:

    this must be a universal, because it is the same here! two boys and one man and wow they use a lot of socks!!

  3. Rachel Lane says:

    I give up with socks, i pair them up as close as poss, sometimes wear odd ones!!! and then sometimes just use them as little rags to clean the bathroom with. I have a similar problem with bags at the moment though…. i seem to have a load of bags taking up all the room on the coat pegs and leaving no room for coats etc, there is bags for everything, i sometimes wish i could just have one bag for everything! There is one for swimming/sports, a big one for shopping (part of my efforts to try ang go green) a bag for everyday use, my son’s school bags, PE bag, sea cadets bag, a big beach bag, a picnic cool bag thingy, severl
    others arghhh

Leave a Reply

