You know it’s not going to be a great party when you walk into the room to find a man in the corner dressed as a badger…


 Henry is one of those children who hates clowns, mannequins and adults dressed up as furry animals. One party we went to he spent the whole of the entertainment part sat on my lap as he really didn’t like the lady dressed as a clown. This isn’t his type of entertainment. He is not amused.

 I’m not sure where this has come from as he’s not the first born so he’s been taken round old houses, museums and gone to many a children’s party. I remember quite clearly though, when it started. Two Christmas’ ago we decided it would be rather nice to go and the nativity scene at a local garden centre. We had in our heads a scene of shepherd’s and sheep with maybe a donkey and a wise man or two…

 What we were confronted with was an animatronic display of moving figures and animals. Hen immediately took an instant distrust to this but nothing could prepare us for what was around the corner. A unicorn up on hind legs with moving head had Henry screaming his head off and shouting ‘I not like that horse!!!’ We tried to go back past the mythical creature – not to sure where in the nativity a white rearing unicorned horse appeared – but no. It was a definite hate of it.

Old houses have fantastic displays but I dread the dressed dummies illustrating some ancient skill or costume. He hated the mannequins at Hampton Court Palace, the ‘clockwork’ man at Gifford’s circus and a local large house we visited had him asking ‘who’s that man in the corner?’ of a mannequin pretending to write behind a desk.

He certainly hasn’t got this fear from my side of the family as I can remember standing outside madam Tussaud’s in London with my parents and brothers and one brother daring the other to go and touch the waxwork boy’s eyes. I remember he did and so did I. Anything my brothers did I wanted to do too! I’m really hoping Hen grows out of it soon though as I’m beginning to dread the birthday party invites arriving for him as I then have to try to politely ask if there’s going to be entertainment. The adult dressed as a badger had him really spooked and he sat as far away from it as possible. When the party host shouted, ‘Come and have your photo taken with Baz!’ (the badger) he looked at me with the expression of a boy who’d just had his birthday and Christmas cancelled and all his toys he been given away.

I let him be. I couldn’t face the fight really. One day Hen will be fine about the weird entertainers and the strange mannequins. Maybe by his 18th birthday he should be fine. Maybe, just for a giggle, I should turn up in a badger’s costume…

About littlewhitecottage

Emma is a qualified teacher with 14 years of teaching in many different settings. From teaching adults and children at a music school to choosing to work in a demanding primary school that was failing (which meant moving from an outstanding school – her colleagues were aghast!) to running her own sewing business for the last 5 ½ years teaching all ages how to sew: Emma loves to teach.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

