Is graffiti okay as long as it’s spelt right..?


Graffiti is one of the few tools you have if you have almost nothing.
And even if you don’t come up with a picture to cure world poverty you can
make someone smile while they’re having a p**s.”

Banksy.

I was in the local park today with hubbie and the boys when hubbie suddenly said ‘I wish they wouldn’t graffiti’ He looked sternly at the wooden frame that Henry was trying to climb and on one side there was ‘c**t’ and ‘peado’. I was startled too and annoyed that someone could write such language in a child’s playground but it set me off thinking…

Was I upset at the language or the fact that one of the words was spelt wrongly? It really annoyed me that they had written ‘peado’ on the side of the wooden frame. I was almost thinking ‘well, if you’re going to scribble in black pen on a child’s play area at least get the spelling right.’ In fact, I did say this to hubbie who looked at me as if to say ‘have you gone totally mad?? Will the teacher in you never leave?? It was a mistake I’m certain as I really don’t think the writer intended it as an ironic statement of the misunderstanding of words that label people who prey on children and the green little balls that grow in the garden. I could be wrong though…

Do people who write graffiti take 10 mins out of getting ready for a night out, lay out their permanent pens on their beds and debate which one to take out of an evening? Is it a case of red on Wednesday and blue on Friday or do they just take the first to hand because whatever they do there is a conscious decision to take a pen out with them? I found myself in the park looking at the graffiti today wondering just this as I hadn’t a pen on me and neither had hubbie –I did ask much to his bemusement. Also, where do they put the pen? Is that why these skater boy trousers have so many pockets? 1 for the mobile phone, 1 for wallet and 1 to carry the pen should you feel the need to scribble on a bit of wood or wall?

Don’t get me wrong, I do appreciate a good bit of graffiti on a wall when I see it. I appreciate the art, the work time and effort that any art takes to do. I’m not arty in a drawing sense; a blank piece of paper scares the heck out of me so I respect what I can’t do for the talent it is. I don’t see the connection to the scribbles on walls that I saw this afternoon though. Am I being to highbrow? Am I saying that it’s okay so long as it’s a pretty picture and not some foul word? I don’t know but either way I do object to any swear words in a child’s playground.

So the next time you see a bit of graffiti smile for a minute as you think of the young person a few hours earlier getting ready for their night out choosing their pen of choice. You can just imagine the scene, a teenager’s messy room with red, black and blue pens lined in a row on a football team duvet cover. ‘It’s Wednesday innit’ so it’s a blue pen I need…’ (All said in a mockney Jamaican drawl that all young people use no matter where they come from that says ‘I come from the streets’) But you won’t. You’ll be like me and wonder why the heck they do it, what are they doing out so late and haven’t they got homes to go to? It won’t stop as there was graffiti in my village playground when I was little as there no doubt will be when I hope to push my grandchildren on the swings. I just don’t think it helps matters when a man has become famous ‘artist’ in drawing in places where he shouldn’t and doesn’t have permission too. He stays hidden because of the kudos it gives him? Because of the mystery this creates therefore adding ££££££’s to his ‘art’. I think not. I think he stays hidden because he knows what is the reality, that what he’s doing is as illegal as the kids that drew on the playground where my sons’ were playing today.

About littlewhitecottage

Emma is a qualified teacher with 14 years of teaching in many different settings. From teaching adults and children at a music school to choosing to work in a demanding primary school that was failing (which meant moving from an outstanding school – her colleagues were aghast!) to running her own sewing business for the last 5 ½ years teaching all ages how to sew: Emma loves to teach.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is graffiti okay as long as it’s spelt right..?

  1. Emilie Roe says:

    Brilliant ! You honestly had me enthralled from beginning to end. But I tell you what it took me forever and looking through google to find out how to spell enthralled.

  2. Tracy says:

    I have to hand it to you Emma you have kept me glued to my seat for more than 2 minutes. Your blogs are very enjoyable. A pleasure to read:)

Leave a Reply

