Go Gok yourself (girlfriend) –part 2


10 things to do/think of when investigating your wardrobe and breaking out from the ‘uniform’ you wear everyday…

I’ve written a simple list of things to help you get to grips with your wardrobe again. I really did do this and now have found some great clothes that I’ve had for years that I now wear. I feel better about myself and am really thinking about what I wear now instead of just putting on the same skinny jeans and brown boots that I was living in. I get more comments about what I wear now than I have in a long while and I love it when people ask me where I got something. I only spent a little money on buying new tights – get me purple ones on in the photo! – and a couple of tops but these were for things I already had that didn’t have anything to go with.

So here goes, are you ready to Gok yourself..?

  1. Give yourself time to sort through your wardrobe. You won’t be able to look at what you have in 5 mins and make really good decisions in that time. Plan an afternoon or an evening in which this is your wardrobe time. You’ll save money in the long run as you’ll be discovering clothes you already have so it’ll be worth the effort! Why not do this with a friend if you’re feeling unconfident. Ask them to come to your house and help you and then you can go to theirs and help them.

     

  2. Take everything out and sort it. What do you already know you’ll never wear again? Put those to one side and don’t feel bad. Yes some things are too small (for everyone not just you) some things aren’t where you are in your stage of life and some things you won’t like and that’s fine too. From the clothes you’ll not wear again is there anything you could sell to make a bit of money for new clothes you may need? Is there any fabric that you could use to make new things from? If there’s anything left why not take them to a charity shop?

     

  3. Don’t feel bad about not being able to get into clothes you have. If you want to keep them, put them in another space so you don’t see them on a daily basis. You don’t want to feel bad about yourself each day as this could make you less inclined to go and do something about it.

     

  4. Go through possible outfit combinations, get your scarves out, accessories, shoes and really think about how you wear each item. This will help you plan what to wear.

     

  5. Rules .When you’ve put everything back into your wardrobe you’ll need a plan of attack to make you wear the clothes again. You decide what your rules are. You’re in charge and they have to fit your life. I chose not to wear my skinny jeans or brown boots at all for a week. You may choose other rules and that’s fine.

     

  6. Plan what to wear. You can’t be expected to pull out a fabulous outfit in between feeding the children, finding school shoes or hearing reading. Choose what you want to wear the night before and lay it out. I only did this for a week or so until I was able to just take out the clothes I knew went with each. You’ve not worn your clothes for a while so it will take you a little bit of time to get to know them again.

     

     

  7. Accept the compliments you will receive. During my first week people asked if I’d lost weight, had my hair done (not with those grey hairs!) that my legs looked fab and all other things. HEAR what they are saying as they mean it; they wouldn’t say anything if you looked odd as it is an effort to say something nice to someone. Feel good about yourself and swish that hair!

     

  8. Don’t worry if you get it wrong. You’re not perfect and you’ve been used to blending in. Now you’re wearing something you may not have worn for a while it may take some time to find what it goes with. I wore a fab skirt I have but it doesn’t really go with anything else I have so I tried to make it go with something it clearly didn’t. I was uncomfortable but I realised that I wasn’t going to get it right and it was fun going shopping and searching for a top to go with it.

     

  9. Feeling good about yourself will inspire you to take it further. You may get your hair done, have some waxing, get your nails done, and go shopping to fill in those wardrobes gaps you’ve now found. You may want to eat better or try to exercise so you may need those clothes you’d put away…

     

     

  10. Keep it up. It is an effort but keep tuning in to how good you feel about yourself and you’ll never look back!

 

I hope some to this is useful to you. It’s not meant as a strict list for you to follow but more just a few ideas to get you started. I LOVE the clothes I had in my wardrobe I just wasn’t wearing them and now I feel like I have a whole new wardrobe and in the words of James Brown ‘I feel good!’

Let me know how you get on!

Emma x


 

About littlewhitecottage

Tales from a contemporay cottage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Go Gok yourself (girlfriend) –part 2

  1. Helen Mills says:

    Great post – thanks for sharing. I went through my clothes recently as I found that I was wearing the same old things. It coincided with joining weight watchers and I now have a goal weight to aim for as well as a wardrobe full of clothes I want to get in to again. I am really looking forward to it. Thanks again for a great post as it has spurred me on to keep losing weight.

Leave a Reply

