A ball on the end of a piece of string…


Today Ollie and Hen were at school all day so it was a Tobes and me day. I set up the knights and the castle for Tobes whilst I worked and he gave them a good go but they weren’t really floating his boat so we put them away and then looked for something else. He LOVES to see what I’m doing and found the ‘Bob’ toys as we call them. These are soft tools that we bought from Ikea that he and Henry love to use. They go around the cottage fixing all the imaginary problems chatting away to each other in their gruff ‘mans’ voices that they put on. They fix the leaky radiators, hammer in lose nails and then use the electric drill that has long since lost its drill bits to make sure the job is done. Bob would indeed be proud…

He came into the workroom and saw I was sewing a ‘quilt’ this isn’t a quilt as such –it’s a padded art wall that I can stick the boys artwork on without ruining the walls that looks quite nice too. He saw the measuring tape and got his ‘Bob’ measure out and then set to having a go at measuring for himself. He soon realised that his measure wasn’t as long as mine and then he found the button box. He loved it. I’ll blog about that another day but it’s safe to say that the excitement his mother found on opening her Grandmother’s button box was a little like he felt today. Whilst the world moves on, some things never change.

As I’ve said I’m so determined that the boys get out more than they have been so Tobes got his bike out and we went for a bike ride. I say ‘we’ but really it was me jogging alongside him whilst he rode. He’s getting much better now and actually doing a full revolution with the pedals so he gets some speed up. He’s no idea of the brake though so this is the next thing we need to look at! I put out some cones when we came back so he could go in and out of them. Learning to steer is almost as important as learning to stop or is it more important?

Anyway. To the ball on the string.

Oliver’s vision therapist had him using a ball on a string suspended from the ceiling and he has to bat it away using a cardboard tube whilst standing on a wobbly board and calling out letters and numbers as it spins. Although this does sound like a medieval torture device I am assured that it will help his eyesight. I mentioned to the therapist that I thought this might work well in a garden hanging from a tree branch and she thought that was a fab idea so that’s what I did today. Tobes had great fun hitting the ball and never losing it although it did come back and whack him on the head a couple of times! I used a soft ball and wound string around it and Tobes had a large headed solid plastic bat so his chances of success were very high. It was great for hand eye coordination, great for eye training and bloomin’ good fun when it came and hit you on the head. He was so excited he told the boys in the car on the way home and soon all 3 were out in the garden whacking heck out of the balls. Yes, they did get hit into the trees but I’m not sure what I found most interesting; watching the hit the balls or try to solve the problem of getting them out of the tree again! A chair was dragged up to the walnut tree from the patio to help…

I won’t keep it on the tree for long as I feel that my boys get used to things being around and soon things can become wallpaper that they no longer see or use. It’ll be down by the weekend.

About littlewhitecottage

Tales from a contemporay cottage.
This entry was posted in Family, Things to do with your children, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

